The Lawyer European Awards 2012: the winners

EUROPE - German firm Noerr became European Law Firm of the year at The Lawyer’s European Awards in Monte Carlo last night at the end of a glittering awards ceremony.

Noerr edged out a strong list of regional winners to take home the night’s big award, after a year of outstanding growth and vision.
Italy’s Gianni Origoni Grippo Cappelli & Partners was highly commended in the European Law Firm of the year category, recognised for its bold move in snatching Grimaldi e Associati partner Roberto Cappelli late last year as well as for its work on a string of high-profile transactions.
The gala dinner was held at the Hotel Hermitage overlooking Monte Carlo’s historic harbour. Hosted by BBC presenter Mishal Husain for the second year running, awards were presented to firms of all shapes and sizes from around Europe.
Domański Zakrzewski Palinka became the first Polish Firm of the year, while Popovici Nițu & Asociații picked up the inaugural Romanian Law Firm of the year prize. Fellow Romanian Florentin Ţuca of Ţuca Zbârcea & Asociaţii won the European Managing Partner of the year award for his tireless and inspiring leadership.
The awards were judged by a panel of senior in-house counsel and UK managing and senior partners.
The Hermitage is also the venue for this year’s European Conference, with delegates discussing strategy and management issues against the background of the tough economic climate.
The winners in full:
Law firm of the year: Austria
Winner: Schoenherr
Binder Grösswang
Dorda Brugger Jordis
Fellner Wratzfeld & Partner
Graf & Pitkowitz
Wolf Theiss
Law firm of the year: Benelux
Winner: Liedekerke Wolters Waelbroeck Kirkpatrick
Alber & Geiger
Arendt & Medernach
Boekel De Neree
De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek
Houthoff Buruma
Law firm of the year: Central Europe
Winner: PRK Partners
Konečná & Zacha
Wolf Theiss
Law firm of the year: Eastern Europe and the Balkans
Winner: Wolf Theiss
Boyanov & Co.
Kalo & Associates
Law firm of the year: France
Winner: August & Debouzy
Highly commended: Bredin Prat
Law firm of the year: Germany
Winner: Noerr
Buse Heberer Fromm
Glade Michel Wirtz
Gleiss Lutz
Hengeler Mueller
Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek
Schalast & Partner
Law firm of the year: Iberia
Winner: PLMJ
Highly commended: Garrigues
Cuatrecasas Gonçalves Pereira
Gomez-Acebo & Pombo
Uría Menéndez
Vieira de Almeida & Associados
Law firm of the year: Italy
Winner: Gianni Origoni Grippo Cappelli & Partners
AL - Assistenza Legale
LABLAW - Studio Legale
Portolano Cavallo Studio Legale
Law firm of the year: Poland
Winner: Domański Zakrzewski Palinka
Highly commended: Salans
Gide Loyrette Nouel
Soltysinski Kawecki & Szlezak (SK&S)
Law firm of the year: Republic of Ireland
Winner: Arthur Cox
Highly commended: McCann FitzGerald
A&L Goodbody
Matheson Ormsby Prentice
William Fry
Law firm of the year: Romania
Winner: Popovici Nițu & Asociații
Highly commended: Musat & Asociatii
Nestor Nestor Diculescu Kingston Petersen
Ţuca Zbârcea & Asociaţii
Law firm of the year: Russia and the CIS
Winner: Pepeliaev Group
Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners
Muranov, Chernyakov & Partners
Sayenko Kharenko
Law firm of the year: Switzerland
Winner: Schellenberg Wittmer
Bär & Karrer
Niederer Kraft & Frey
Walder Wyss
Law firm of the year: The Baltics
Winner: LAWIN
Raidla Lejins & Norcous
Law firm of the year: The Nordics
Sponsored by Bignon De Keyser
Winner: Schjødt
Highly commended: Plesner
Mannheimer Swartling
MAQS Law Firm
Law firm of the year: Turkey
Winner: Bener Law Office
Highly commended: Bezen & Partners
Çukur & Yılmaz Law Firm
Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Avukatlık Ortaklığı
European specialist firm of the year
Winner: Portolano Cavallo Studio Legale
AL - Assistenza Legale
Glade Michel Wirtz
LABLAW - Studio Legale
Trevisan & Cuonzo
International law firm of the year
Winner: Watson, Farley & Williams, Germany
Baker & McKenzie, Russia and the CIS
Dechert, Russia and the CIS
Goltsblat BLP, Russia
Heisse Kursawe Eversheds, Germany
Weil Gotshal & Manges, Central and Eastern Europe
European Managing Partner of the year
Sponsored by KermaPartners
Winner: Florentin Ţuca, Ţuca Zbârcea & Asociaţii
Highly commended: Oleksiy Didkovskiy, Asters
Emmanuelle Barbara, August & Debouzy
Christian H. Pothe, Buse Heberer Fromm
Pauliina Tenhunen, Castrén & Snellman
Luca Failla and Francesco Rotondi, LABLAW - Studio Legale
European law firm of the year
Sponsored by Thomson Reuters
Winner: Noerr
Highly commended: Gianni Origoni Grippo Cappelli & Partners
(Source: LatinLawyer)

Lawyer Brooks appeal presumably in October

PHILIPSBURG--The appeals against attorney-at-law Brenda Brooks’ conviction of bribery charges, will most likely be heard by the Joint Court of Justice in October, it was said Thursday.

2019 Tax law books

DC Tax & Legal will publish the 2019 tax law books for the jurisdictions Sint Maarten, Curaçao, Aruba and The Caribbean Netherlands.

St. Maarten Airport’s cash shortfall is US $1.2M per month

PHILIPSBURG - Princess Juliana International Airport’s (PJIA’s) financial crisis is deepening and the airport has no funds to pay its February salaries next week.