Sarah pleased with progress on Caricom associate membership

PHILIPSBURG--Prime Minister Sarah Wescot-Williams is pleased that a workgroup has been set up to examine the country's request to become an associate member of the Caribbean Community Caricom, a regional economic and lobbying organisation.

Speaking at Wednesday's Council of Ministers press conference, Wescot-Williams said she looks forward to the report of the workgroup, headed by Caricom full member St. Lucia. The workgroup, put in place a week ago, is also tasked with examining the setup and workings of the associate membership function.

Wescot-Williams added that she is sure to have discussions with the representatives of the Caricom member countries making up the workgroup as the work progresses. In the past, she had spoken with a number of Caricom leaders about Caricom/regional matters in general. She also specifically fielded questions from countries about how St. Maarten deals with issues related to their nationals who reside here, St. Maarten's challenges and other issues.

Caricom's Council of Ministers established the workgroup on February 7 during a meeting in Guyana. The group is looking into the request of St. Maarten and Curaçao as they are now autonomous within the Dutch Kingdom.

Caricom currently has five associate members: Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands and the Turks and Caicos Islands. Dutch sister island Aruba is an observer member.

(The Daily Herald)

16 February 2012

27 women found working without a permit in Hypnotic brothel Sint Maarten

PHILIPSBURG - Members of the Unit human Trafficking and Human Smuggling of the St. Maarten Police Force (KPSM) entered on Monday, October 24th, 2016 around 08:00pm the brothel Hypnotic.

Prijs voor “Tempel by Night”

WILLEMSTAD - Medewerkster bij het Gemeenschappelijk Hof van Justitie Nydia Daal heeft op 18 oktober een prijs gewonnen voor het maken van de mooiste foto.

New MPs to take oath Monday, new ministers on Tuesday

PHILIPSBURG--All is set for the 15 Members of Parliament (MPs), elected a month ago, to take the oath of office before Governor Eugene Holiday on Monday. They will form the country's Third Parliament since attaining country status within the Dutch Kingdom six years ago.
disclaimer | privacy
© Dutch Caribbean Legal Portal | Website by Blinq Web Studio