Sint Maarten Government falls, no confidence motion passed against Council of Ministers

PHILIPSBURG – The Gumbs government fell shortly after 12.30 p.m. today (Wednesday, September 30, 2015) after the parliament passed a motion of no-confidence submitted by Democratic Party MP Sarah Wescot-Williams with an 8-7 vote.
Coalition-members Silvio Matser, Maurice Lake and Frans Richardson defected and supported the motion of the opposition.
This means that the country will soon have its fifth government since it became an autonomous country on 10-10-10.
In favor of the motion voted MPs Silveria Jacobs, Christophe Emmanuel, George Pantophlet, William Marlin (National Alliance), Sarah Wescot-Williams (Democratic Party), Frans Richardson (independent), Maurice Lake and Silvio Matser (United People’s party). The latter two will leave the UP-faction and declare themselves independent.
Against voted the UP-members Johan Leonard, Theo Heyliger, Tamara Leonard, Lloyd Richardson and Franklin Meyers and independent MPs Cornelius de Weever and Leona Marlin-Romeo.

UoC-studenten op uitwisseling en stage naar Europa

WILLLEMSTAD - In de afgelopen weken zijn een aantal studenten van de Faculteit der Sociale en Economische Wetenschappen, de Faculteit der Maatschappij- en Gedragswetenschappen en de Faculteit der Technische Wetenschappen vertrokken naar Europa voor een stage of semesteruitwisseling aan de apartneruniversiteiten van de UoC.

Raad van Ministers op bezoek bij Gouverneur

WILLEMSTAD – Elke vier maanden nodigt de Gouverneur van Curaçao, Hare Excellentie Lucille George-Wout, de Raad van Ministers uit voor een werklunch.

First Management Agreement Aruba signed

ORANJESTAD - A scoop on Aruba, where the Minister of Spatial Development, Infrastructure and the Environment Otmar Oduber and Fundacion Parke Nacional Aruba signed a management agreement for the first time on August 26.