New board St. Maarten Chamber COCI

PHILIPSBURG--A new executive board has been elected for the St. Maarten Chamber of Commerce and Industry (COCI).
The board was elected during the Chamber’s first general board meeting for this year on January 27. Peggy Ann Brandon was re-elected President; Anastacio Baker was elected Vice President and Louis Bute was elected Treasurer. The Chamber said in a press release on Tuesday that all candidates had been unanimously elected.
The Chamber also presented two awards during the meeting. Board Member of the Year award was presented to Anastacio Baker. The award was given to recognise a board member who participated in, contributed towards and executed COCI’s undertakings “with undeterred, consistent, continuous dedication and personally ensuring the success of such undertakings all throughout the year 2015.”
The Most Supportive Board Member award went to Pamela Illis-Friday. She received this award for “passionately supporting the board, management and staff” of the COCI and also for contributing to the development of the COCI in 2015.
Other members of the board are Ajay Rawtani, Keith Franca, Nzinga Lake, Stanley Lint and Sidhart “Cookie” Bijlani. COCI’s Operations Manager Ruth Patrick wished the board “every success” in its future endeavours.

COCI tables anti-money-laundering legislation concerns with Minister

PHILIPSBURG--The St. Maarten Chamber of Commerce and Industry (COCI) tabled its concerns on the proposed changes to the law relating to the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF) recommendations and, in particular, the articles of the law related to COCI’s functioning, during a meeting with Justice Minister Cornelius de Weever and his legal advisers on August 19.

Detentie chauffeur dodelijk ongeluk Curacao verlengd

WILLEMSTAD - De detentie van de chauffeur die afgelopen vrijdag een dodelijk ongeluk veroorzaakte is verlengd.

Braziliaanse uitwisselingskandidaten Rotary Club bezoeken Hof Curacao

WILLEMSTAD – Onlangs heeft de vicepresident van het Hof, mr. Mauritsz de Kort, samen met rechter mr. Sigmar Carmelia twee uitwisselingskandidaten uit Brazilië ontvangen.