Constitutional changes as of 10 October 2010

As of 10 October 2010, the country the Netherlands Antilles – comprising the islands of Curacao, St. Maarten, Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba – ceased to exist. This entails that since 10 October 2010, the Kingdom of the Netherlands comprises of four constituent countries: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curacao and St. Maarten, each having an autonomous status, subject to and in accordance with the “Charter of the Kingdom of The Netherlands" (Statuut voor het Koninkrijk der Nederlanden). The islands of Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba, commonly referred to as the BES-islands are all individual public entities (municipalities) within the country the Netherlands since 10 October 2010.

Generally spoken, most existing laws in the Netherlands Antilles have now been renamed as laws of the respective countries or public entities. Do note that the laws that govern them are now referred to as to the laws of, for example, Curacao or St Maarten, and not as the laws of the Netherlands Antilles (but they have not undergone any changes as to their content). For the BES-islands several specific BES-laws are effective or will become effective shortly.

October 2010

Lawyers say the government's appeal in dump case is incomprehensible

PHILIPSBURG--There is still unlawful nuisance and the odour at the sanitary landfill must be removed. The Country St. Maarten considers itself committed to the Fire Suppression Plan but does not want to commit itself to a specific date.

Juriste Ivy Moll krijgt lintje voor haar vrijwilligerswerk in Amersfoort

LEIDEN - Juriste Ivy Frances Moll is zaterdag in Amersfoort benoemd tot Lid in de Orde van Oranje-Nassau. Zij kreeg de versierselen opgespeld door burgemeester Lucas Bolsius.

Aruba, Bonaire and Curacao will require Venezuelans to obtain visa to visit

DUTCH CARIBBEAN - The Dutch Caribbean islands Aruba, Bonaire and Curacao will require Venezuelans to obtain a visa to visit. This was stated by the government on Wednesday, adding to the nations that have tightened entry restrictions on the crisis-hit country because of mass emigration.